Danna Ferguson


Kevin MacEachern


Christine Bland

Committee Members

Murdena MacIntyre

Gerard MacNeil

Brenda Chisholm Beaton

Angela Phinney 

Michele Tabensky

Melissa Warner 

Al Ferguson

Hughie MacDougall

Kelly MacMillan

Corene Gillis

Scott Oakley

Annie Beaton

Catherine Warner

Pam Stewart

Archie Stewart

Adam Cooke

Nicolle MacIntyre

Malcolm Kennedy

Drew MacQuarrie

Cathy Cooke

Gus Doiron 

Cathy Doiron 

Festival of the Strait Society


Festival of the Strait is only possible due to the hard work and dedication of many volunteers, who plan and organize and host the many events enjoyed by visitors and residents of the Strait area.

In addition to the amazing volunteers, is the support of our surrounding businesses, organizations, and industries in the Strait area and the Quad Counties. Their generosity and investment in our community is seen each year, as we - the Festival of the Strait Society - continue to bring our community together in celebration each July.

What do we have to celebrate? An amazing community with even more amazing people! Port Hawkesbury and our neighbors in Richmond, Point Tupper and Port Hastings gladly welcomes neighbors and visitors alike - so please mark your calendars this June 28th to July 7th 2019

This year is Festival of the Strait's 53rd Annual event. Festival of the Strait began in 1965, and has been a popular summer festival ever since! Help us celebrate this year as we celebrate our talented musicians and Celtic Rock, and as we celebrate our proud history throughout the generations!!

So, please - everyone is officially welcome to Port Hawkesbury - the only town in Cape Breton. Our town has a proud history, a strong tight-knit community, and a bright future! We have lots to celebrate this year, and we welcome you to join us this summer.


A Note of Thanks


We would like to say thank-you our past Festival of the Strait chairs that made a huge positive impact on our community with the Festival of the Strait are: Lesa McHugh, Brenda Chisholm-Beaton, Olivia Melnick, Tanya England, Danna Ferguson, Denise Samson and Annie Beaton. Danna Ferguson has actually stepped up as Festival Chair again!  We are so excited to have such an amazing Festival Leader! 

To all our past chairs - some still active in Festival - Thank you for all the years you invested in the Festival of the Strait and our Community as it continues to grow! Also, thanks to the many past volunteers who have invested time in their community!

We look forward to this year's Festival of the Strait 2019 as we continue to bring quality - and mostly free - events to the Strait Area for all ages!


Festival of the Strait Society.